New Life Games LLC
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

News:

Welcome to the NewLifeGames.com message forum! 

NLG Site Navigation Menu

Archives of old posts can be found at...... Newlifegames.net/nlg/

Author Topic: 1983 Double Up Cal Omega machine  (Read 22614 times)

Offline arcade_jim

• New NLG Member 3 to 100 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 2
  • arcade_jim New User has no influence.
  • NLG
1983 Double Up Cal Omega machine
« on: July 22, 2015, 04:42:17 PM »
Hello all. I'm new to NLG and recently acquired a 1983 Cal Omega Double Up video poker machine. It's not fully functional, so I'm sure I'll have questions as I attempt to bring it back to life, but I thought I'd share a few pictures and maybe solicit advice on where to start troubleshooting.

The machine seems to power on OK, but the buttons do not light up and there is no sound. The cabinet fan and monitor come on, though. I tested and reseated the fuses I could reach easily and the buttons seem to be grounded correctly (they passed a continuity test over the entire chain).

Any thoughts and advice are greatly appreciated.

Offline arcade_jim

• NLG
Re: 1983 Double Up Cal Omega machine
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2015, 09:43:43 PM »
I'm pretty new to this type of electronics repair... Should I be able to read a DC voltage across the F5 fuse on the backplane?

Offline SolidSilver

• Sr NLG Member
  • NLG Member 251 to 500 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 65
  • SolidSilver Is a rising star!SolidSilver Is a rising star!SolidSilver Is a rising star!SolidSilver Is a rising star!SolidSilver Is a rising star!SolidSilver Is a rising star!
  • NLG
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2015, 10:06:47 PM »
If you get a lit-up and intelligible screen, but not button lights, you are on the right track looking for a dead power-supply section.