**Video Poker, Keno, Slots, 21** Gaming machines > Bally EVO and EVO hybrid.

Bally Evo video slot - general questions...

(1/23) > >>

shortrackskater:
I just bought a Bally Evo video slot, in various pieces. Most of it is assembled now although I have two plugs in the top box that have no home. I'm thinking they may be for a printer, but if anyone knows... please post. There's a two prong plug on the left and a smaller one on the right, with what looks like a ground terminal. I don't see anywhere to plug them.
Also... what model IS the Evo? I'm new to working on these. I have a Game Maker but this one seems much more complex than that. I did find a link "slot tech - interesting stuff" that I believe has some of what I need on it.
Oh... does the CD have to be IN for it to run? I'd assume so...  :Scratch-Head:

shortrackskater:
I got everything together. I think those plugs are for a printer or something up there. The machine powers up BUT... and I think this IS the problem: the CD rom just makes a loud WHIRRRRING noise. It's not booting up the CD inside. This looks just like a generic drive. Can I just stuck a Goodwill store CD drive in there?
UPDATE: whirrring was not the DVDr; it was the fan below it!

shortrackskater:
This is great... I'm just replying to myself. Too bad I can't give self-Karma!  :rotfl:
So... it is just a CD ROM... so, since it's not opening/closing... working, I'll head to Goodwill tomorrow.
Also I measured the battery voltage in the MPU and it was under 3V. I bought a new one, but kept the old one connected with jumpers while I soldered the new one to the leads of the other.
The next problem I saw was the audio out plug in the "suitcase" or whatever you call the unit. It had split in half. I removed the plate covering the plugs and saw that it was covering two more audio plugs. I'm guessing they're for some other model so I just swiped the one to the right.