Progressive Controllers and Displays > Mikohn Progressive Systems

FINALLY! Step-by-step HOWTO make PE+ on-screen progressive

(1/4) > >>

qbert:
Original post by 4 Deuces Feb 4 2012. transfer to new site March 7 2014.:

Here are my step-by-step instructions for absolute beginners like me (although  I think I've graduated to "Amateur Slot Enthusiast" or "ASE" - hey, that's pronounced ACE!).

This will be a multi-part post.  Hope you find these instructions helpful!

4000 credits and Karma to Jay, Stayouttadabunker, Knaql, Foster, and Captain Happy for their help, expertise and cheers!

And bonus credits to all the other contributors from posts that I learned from.

Overview of how a progressive works

Basically, your PE+ can’t control a progressive jackpot by itself.  It needs another board to keep track of the progressive jackpot.  This is called a Controller and essentially “controls” the jackpot by keeping track of all the coins going in and incrementing the jackpot.  How quickly the jackpot grows depends on how you configure the Controller.  You configure the Controller using software.  So, these step-by-step instructions are going to show you how to add a Controller to your PE+ in order to add a progressive jackpot.

Summary of Steps

* Step 1 - plan what you want (on-screen, external meter or both)
* Step 2 - get the parts (hardware, software, cables, power, manuals, etc.)
* Step 3 - put it all together

qbert:

Step 1 - plan what you want (on-screen, external meter or both)

This topic is specifically for displaying a single progressive jackpot amount on the screen for an upright video poker IGT PE+ machine.  It's possible that these steps would be very similar for slant top, S+ and other IGT machines.  For this example, I am using a 5-game video poker machine (Jacks or Better, Bonus Poker, Deuces Wild, Bonus Poker Deluxe, and Double Bonus).  All five games share the same single progressive jackpot.