New Life Games LLC
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

News:

Welcome to the NewLifeGames.com message forum! 

NLG Site Navigation Menu

Archives of old posts can be found at...... Newlifegames.net/nlg/

Author Topic: DBV-200 on S+ Not Accepting Bills - Solved, with description, references, more  (Read 2271 times)

Offline Jeremy

• Registered Unknown Member 0-2 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 2
  • Jeremy New User has no influence.
 Like others here, I ran into an issue with the bill acceptor on my machine not accepting bills. I found a lot of questions, tips, and suggestions from very helpful people this site, but it took me a while to find something that matched the problem that I had. Ultimately, the answer was here, and I am grateful for it. Along the way I learned a few things, so I decided to summarize everything here in the hopes it can help others. I’m not an expert, so this is written with other non-experts in mind.
I have a JCM DBV-200 (version 2.12-04-02) inside of an IGT S+ with 25-cent denomination. The bill acceptor had been intermittent for years (gears spun on powerup, bezel did not light, and no response when inserting bills), but it did not get much use and its unavailability did not cause any major issues. However, after the game sat idle for a while, it needed a battery replacement. Afterward, I decided to work on the bill acceptor.
Based on previous experience, I had always assumed there was a loose connection or broken wire – it worked intermittently, then didn’t. Jiggling a few things here and there seemed to work often enough that I wasn’t too concerned.
After replacing the battery, the machine worked fine, but with no change in its condition, I was concerned that the DBV would need some programming help. A little more jiggling got the unit to accept a few bills and apply credits, so I knew it was still operational. That lasted only a day.