New Life Games LLC
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

News:

Welcome to the NewLifeGames.com message forum! 

NLG Site Navigation Menu

Archives of old posts can be found at...... Newlifegames.net/nlg/

Author Topic: 10mhz motherboard issue  (Read 3844 times)

Offline Thegadgeteer

• New NLG Member 3 to 100 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Thegadgeteer New User has no influence.
  • NLG
10mhz motherboard issue
« on: February 12, 2019, 11:37:13 AM »
Hello folks,

Newbie here, please forgive, and feel free to correct me if I breach protocol. I've scanned the existing topics, but didn't find anything relative to my problem. I have a slant top S-Plus that I got from a friend who got it in a non-working condition. There was a blown diode in the mb (D3) that my friend attempted (and failed) to repair. When he gave it to me, it sat in my shop for about 6 years when I finally pulled it out, and replaced the diode.

It has worked great for a year when one day I got error code 12, mb battery voltage low. No biggie. Ordered a new battery, replaced it without incident, inserted the mb back into the machine where it seemed to work fine, with one noticeable difference; the sound was about half the volume of what it was pre-repair. After about 5 minutes it just froze and didn't do a thing. I opened it and smelled that hot component smell, and discovered that that diode was hot as a firecracker.

If I let it cool, it works for a few then freezes again. Gonna replace the diode again and see if that does it. Any ideas, suggestions, comments would be really appreciated.

Dave

Offline Stayouttadabunker

• Topic Moderator
  • NLG Member 501 to 10,000 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 409